Networking Part 1

IMG_5354 copy.jpg

Chriss, O. J. (Photographer). (2015). Networking Part 1. [Photograph]. Birmingham, MI.

For this assignment we were to network ourselves so that we get our name out into the professional world. The above picture is of me in front of the McCann Worldgroup building that is located in Birmingham, Michigan. Here, I met with Stephanie Rice who is an Senior Account Executive at Weber Shandwick Detroit. This company along with a couple others are located in the McCann Worldgroup building; McCann Worldgroup is a large marketing firm. I am so grateful that Stephanie took the time out of her schedule to meet with me.

Her and I sat down over coffee and discussed the things that she does for Weber Shandwick and she went through my resume with me and gave me some tips on how to improve it. The information that she was able to provide was very helpful. This is kind of my first semester in the Public Relations and Advertising major so I am unsure about the types of jobs that are available for me. Meeting with her gave me a better idea about the opportunities that are out there and the skills that I should work on perfecting before I graduate.

I definitely plan on contacting her in the future as a resource for help when the time comes for me to look for a job that uses my major to its full potential.

 

Leave a Reply

