InDesign

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 8.04.10 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 8.04.29 PM

Chriss, O. J. (Artist). InDesign. [Image of painting].

For this assignment we were to become familiar with the program known as InDesign. We were told to make a 5×7 postcard for any holiday occasion. The first image is of the front of my postcard and the second image is of the back. With the holiday season right around the corner I chose to make a Christmas post card. My favorite thing about the holidays is the snow. Some of my favorite memories as a kid were when my sisters and I were sledding and having snow ball fights during the winter. This being said I knew I wanted to have a post card that was all about the snow. I googled images of snow flakes until i found a pattern that caught my eye. This is the pattern on the bottom of the front page and the left side of the back page. I took a screenshot of the pattern from google and then placed the image into InDesign and adjusted it until it fit the way I wanted. I then added in the “Merry Christmas” text to finish off the front of the card.

For the back of the post card I put the same design that I used on the front on the side. I think this ties both sides together. I then added in the divider down the middle using the line tool so that there is a spot to write a message and then a spot to write an address. I was then able to find a picture of a snowflake stamp to add to the corner to continue with the snow theme.

I really enjoyed using this program. I never imagine I would have the ability to make my own post cards. My roommates have been talking about wanting to send out Christmas cards, I may end up using this program to design them now that I understand how it works and I see all that I can create.

Leave a Reply

