Technology in Careers

The purpose of this assignment was for us to get a better understanding of how important technological skills are in careers. We were to use Indeed.com, Monster.com, Beyond.com, or any other website that companies post job openings on to look for jobs that we are interested in. The website that I used was Indeed.com. Once on the website I typed in job titles that go along with my major, PR and Advertising, to see if there were any postings that seemed interesting to me. After going through a couple different ads and re-wording the job title I was looking for, I found five different jobs that sounded interesting to me. Below I have posted the job title, the company the job was with, the URL for the job posting, and some of the technological/digital skills that the position requires or recommends as well as some of the educational requirements the company wants the applicant to have.

Looking at the different jobs and the skills needed, I realize that with my major I will be dealing with a lot of social media and presentation aids, such as PowerPoint. I realize that in order to stand out among the other applicants I need to be very familiar with all of these sights. Being able to handle these websites with ease will make my job easier and will make me more efficient. Based on the needed skills for these jobs I can now see that I will be using technology pretty much every day in any job that goes along with my major. I am confident that with the classes I am taking now and in the years to come I will gain a better understanding of all the potential these sights have and in the end I can use them to my advantage.

I am confident that I will use these sights when the time comes for me to start looking for a job that pertains to my major.

1434535675006

Daya, K. (Photographer). Tech and Careers-How to use Technology to Advance Your Career. [Image of photograph]. George, South Africa. Retrieved from http://www.out-square.com/blog/2015/3/26/tech-and-careers-how-to-use-technology-to-advance-your-career

Position: Media and Public Relations Coordinator

Company: Delta Dental

URL:

https://www3.apply2jobs.com/DeltaDental/ProfExt/index.cfm?fuseaction=mExternal.showJob&RID=663&CurrentPage=2

Skills Needed:

  • Writing and editing skills
  • Experience working with the media
  • Writing skills
  • Experience with social media
  • Media event planning experience
  • Knowledge of word processing and spreadsheet software
  • Ability to multi-task
  • Bachelor’s degree in public relations, journalism, mass media, or communications and two years of professional work experience in public relations, journalism, or media relations

Position: Jr. Marketing Assistant

Company: B.A.P INC.

URL:

http://www.careerbuilder.com/jobseeker/jobs/jobdetails.aspx?utm_source=indeed.com&rx_source=indeed&utm_campaign=organic&siteid=cb001&job_did=J9050N63M4FBD327PC5&showNewJDP=yes&utm_medium=aggregator&IPath=EXINDSEP_G

Skills Needed:

  • Sales skills
  • Negotiating Skills
  • Communication Skills
  • Interpersonal Skills

Position: Marketing Manager

Company: FANUC America Corporation

URL: http://jobs.ourcareerpages.com/job/130185?source=Indeed

Skills Needed:

  • Minimum fifteen years of experience in a marketing, communications, and/or the public relations field
  • Ability to develop marketing plans and strategy
  • Skilled with Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and Website Content Management Systems
  • Excellent written and verbal skills
  • Has relationships with national media
  • Ability to develop, prepare, and deliver effective proposals and presentations
  • Bachelor’s degree in marketing, journalism, or public relations

Position: Executive Director

Company: St. Joseph Today

URL: http://www.indeed.com/cmp/St.-Joseph-Today/jobs/Executive-Director-09019bbb3c8959b0?q=pr+manager

Skills Needed:

  • Experience in creating, producing and promoting public events
  • Experience in the tourism industry
  • Knowledge of Microsoft Office, Excel, and PowerPoint
  • Social media skills (mainly Facebook and Twitter)
  • Bachelor’s Degree in Marketing, Communications or similar field

Position: Marketing Manager

Company: Carbon Media Group

URL: https://carbonmediagroup.applicantpro.com/jobs/280186-79159.html

Skills Needed:

  • Excellent copywriter
  • Detail-oriented
  • Ability to work under pressure
  • Goal-oriented
  • Proactive work ethic
  • Ability to work in a fast paced and competitive environment
  • Skilled with Adobe InDesign, Photoshop and Illustrator
  • Skilled with the web and social media
  • BA/BS in Communications, Marketing, Public Relations, Journalism or similar
Leave a Reply

